The Forever Wave, a radio play

"If you survive the apocalypse, don't you get to help build what comes after it?"

Inspired by Dylan Thomas’ Under Milk Wood, The Forever Wave reconceptualizes Thomas’ play for a climate ravaged near-future. Set in a drowned Bay Area, circa 2070, The Forever Wave imagines the survivors of this water-logged world as occupying the tops of hills, individual islands jutting up from a climate-change induced tide that rolled in one day and never rolled out.

What communities will emerge in a future where our systems have collapsed and our “normal” is a historical relic? What can the hilltop-dwellers of the future teach us about ourselves in the now? And what are the things we can start building in order to avoid their fate?

DONATE HERE (This project is free to access, but was not free to produce. Please donate today!)

The Forever Wave premiered on March 4 on KSFP 102.5 FM, broadcasting from Sutro Tower in San Francisco, 8-10 pm and has been on tour of community radio stations ever since.

Other broadcast partners have included,, KACR-LPFM 96.1 FM, Alameda, KWMR, Point Reyes Station/West Marin, KSFS Radio, San Francisco, and KALW 91.7 FM. We were recently a featured performance for International Dylan Thomas Day, paying homage to the 70th anniversary of the date that Under Milk Wood was first read onstage in 1953.

Currently you can catch The Forever Wave every other Sunday on KSFP 102.5 LP FM, time 5-7 pm.

Watch this space for information on future dates and our upcoming digital Fringe tour!

NEW DATE! Sunday, May 28, KSFP 102.5 LP FM, time 5-7 pm

NEW DATE! Sunday, June 11, KSFP 102.5 LP FM, time 5-7 pm

NEW DATE! Sunday, June 25, KSFP 102.5 LP FM, time 5-7 pm


CAST (bios here)

Roy Conboy

Jerikka Gamboa

Aaliyah Gilliard

Peter Griggs

Nathaniel Justiniano

Julia Letzel

Mia Paschal

Krystle Piamonte

Edna Mira Raia

Patrick Simms

Megan Trout

Lluis Valls


Hatem Adell

Jeremy Greco

Javier Stell-Frésquez

Sabrina Wenske


John Rock

Equipment loan: SFSU School of Theatre & Dance


This production was made possible in part by 3rd Street Emerging Artist’s Fund, Anonymous, Bikes to Books, Chris Bunting, Dianne Grimmett, Dot Janson, Scott Feeney, Steve Greenwood, and YOU

CREATIVE TEAM (bios here)

Nicole Gluckstern (Playwright, Director)

Cliff Caruthers (Sound Design)

Patrick Simms (Audio Engineer)

Nathan Link (Auxiliary Audio Engineer)


“Esperanza,” by Banda Sin Nombre. Courtesy of the artists.

“The Gates/Take Me to the Water,” by Mark Growden. Courtesy of the artist.


“On Nua Beach,” by Roy Conboy. Courtesy of the artist.


2012 Map of 200′ sea level rise co-created by Brian Stokle and Burrito Justice. Forever Wave Edit by Nicole Gluckstern and Burrito Justice.


Hatem Adell

Jonathan Cordero

Julia Letzel


Michelle Carter

Megan Cohen

Anne Galjour